WhatsApp Image 2021-10-31 at 12.47.42.jpeg


What we do

There are several different pillars of training that we run simultaneously as soon as you join as a cadet on the squadron.​

Much of our training results in recognised qualifications that can be used on a CV or college and university application. Our aim is to make working towards these qualifications part of our regular training, so you can gain these awards whilst having fun!


On the squadron we run classification training, the progressive training syllabus, Duke of Edinburghs award and CVQO qualifications. 

There are many opportunities for taking training further with wing, regional and national competitions in sports, road marching, adventure training and much, much more.

As well as this we complete training in drill and ceremonial, expedition skills, radio communications, adventure training... The list goes on!

Screen Shot 2020-05-31 at 17.04.51.png


From the moment a cadet joins the squadron we start First Class training. This covers all the essential knowledge a cadet needs to be an active member of the squadron and includes uniform issue and drill practise.


Once this is complete cadets can go on to achieve further classification;

Each level of classification gives cadets the essential knowledge and background learning so they can safely partake in further activities. For example, a camp may stipulate a minimum level of First Class, or promotion to Corporal at least Leading Cadet.

All of our training focuses on aviation and adventure training. Cadets can even use classification as the skills requirement for D of E.

Once cadets reach the level of Master Cadet they are issued with a BTEC Level 2 in Aviation Studies. On completion of the presentation skills course and then the wing level Methods of Instruction course, and upon passing a short assessment they can become an Instructor Cadet and teach the syllabus to others on the squadron.


Screen Shot 2020-05-31 at 17.07.42.png

The PTS covers many subjects. As a rule the blue badges are covered as squadron activities and are completed on parade evenings. Bronze badges tend to be a non residential weekend course held at sector level (our sector includes seven squadrons). Silver awards tend to be residential courses held over two or three days at wing level (Bedfordshire and Cambridgeshire). Gold awards are usually week long residential camps. Each subject is slightly different.

Once cadets get to bronze level and above they are working towards recognised qualifications. For example our Bronze First Aid badge is a St John's Youth First Aid Award.


Screen Shot 2020-05-31 at 17.17.01.png

CVQO stand for Cadet Vocational Qualification Organisation. Once cadets are aged between 14 to 15 and 6 months they are eligible for the Institute of Leadership and Management Level 2 award. This is an internationally recognised qualification. 

Further to the BTEC Level 2 in Aviation Studies, once a cadet is 16 cadets can also gain a BTEC Level 2 in Teamwork and Personal Development and a further BTEC in Music. This takes into account a cadet's experience over the years giving us just a few modules to complete before being able to issue the award. 


There are many opportunities to further your training and to get involved in activities off the squadron. Please also see the Flying and Shooting and Duke of Edinburgh pages.

RememberanceImage 2.jpg


Remembrance and other annual public parades.



Easter and Summer residential camps, held on RAF basis over the UK and abroad.


Field training and exercises.



Both local and national: Duxford airshows including camp over, assisting with Linton Fire Works Night, Road Marching, Sports, Water Sports and more!